Henry and Sylvia Richardson Research Incentive Grant

The purpose of the Henry and Sylvia Richardson Research Incentive Grant is to encourage research experiences beyond those available in the student's degree program. Research in a lab other than that of the major professor on a project that complements the student’s degree program is particularly encouraged. Proposals to fund research beyond the student's degree program will be favored, but this criterion is not necessary for submission. The form of the award will be department operational support for the student's research. One award is available each year. The amount of the award varies depending on the interest earned from the endowment. All graduate students within the Department of Entomology who have not yet completed their degree research, and who will remain as resident graduate students for the duration of the award are eligible to apply. A student may only receive the award once unless they enroll for a second degree at ISU.

The research proposals should be almost entirely a product of the individual student (i.e. not that of a faculty, committee or graduate advisor). Applications should adhere to the following format:

a. Title page:

Full name
School address and telephone
Major department
Last degree awarded and date
Present degree objective

b. Abstract (not to exceed 250 words).
c. Statement of significance of research and how the research complements the student's degree program
d. Introduction including review of relevant literature
e. Objectives (general and specific)
f. Methods
g. Literature cited (not more than 15 references)
h. Budget and Justification (not to exceed 1 page)
i. CV, including name of major professor (not to exceed 2 pages)

Sections b-g should not exceed 6 pages (double spaced). All pages should be numbered.

Submit proposal by e-mail to Dr. Bryony Bonning, Chair, Student Awards and Scholarships Committee by November 1. The award will be announced no later than December 1. A three-member committee of faculty outside the department will be appointed to review proposals. Criteria for evaluation will include experimental design, originality, feasibility, significance and clarity.

If there are any questions, please contact Dr. Bryony Bonning, Chair, Student Awards and Scholarships Committee at bbonning@iastate.edu