Iowa State's Deer Tick Home Page

All four life stages of the deer tick

Ixodes scapularis, the black-legged or deer tick, has four life stages.
Shown here are the larva, nymph, and both adult sexes.
(Click image for full-size version).





Also check out our Deer Tick Survey for Iowa residents to see how you can get a tick identified free of charge.

Department of Entomology,
Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa.
Images on this page subject to a usage policy.

To Iowa State home page
Last updated June 12, 1996.